Confession: I used to be an English teacher…

This time of year I always have awfully fond thoughts about reading Julius Caesar with my tenth graders. In them, I am laughing at how egotistical Caesar is, and how he talks about himself in the third person…

Caesar – …danger knows full well
That Caesar is more dangerous than he:
We are two lions litter’d in one day,
And I the elder and more terrible:
And Caesar shall go forth.

So I’m snickering and the kids are all looking at me like, “Miss D? You’re weird.”

Also, shoemaker jokes!

Marellus – But what trade art thou? answer me directly.
Second Commoner – A trade, sir, that, I hope, I may use with a safe
conscience; which is, indeed, sir, a mender of bad soles.

I’m giggling, and all my students are like, “I don’t understand? What did they say?”

Kids. Trust me, by the time you’ve read this play six times, it’s freaking hilarious.

Leave a Reply

